Kindergarten Rainy Day People

With the coming of Spring, we have had a lot of rain. In the art room, we decided to create some rain of our own. Each student drew a self portrait complete with rain hat, jacket, boots, and umbrella. While the students finished coloring them in, I called them over one by one to make it rain. I cut strips of scrap paper to be the same width as their umbrella. This helped to create the illusion that their umbrellas were keeping them nice and dry. While I held the paper firmly in place, they went wild with the splatter paint. I added water to blue tempera paint until it was fairly thin. I showed them how to dip the bristles of an old toothbrush into the paint, and flick it with their finger tips to create the splatter. They all caught on quickly and had a blast making a mess.
IMG_1014.JPG

IMG_1013.JPG

IMG_1015.JPG

IMG_1012.JPG

IMG_1016.JPG

Leave a comment